Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

gbf“Loving you is easy cause your beautiful” some of you may or may not know those lyric from a song titled “Loving You” that was out years ago by an artist named Minnie Ripperton. I chose to reference that line because the phrase rings clear in my head, and without a doubt sounds wonderful. But then I thought… what if you’re not beautiful?  Not in physical appearance, no, that’s not what I’m referring to. I’m thinking more on the lines of someone whose attitude is ugly, or unpleasant, inconsiderate, rude or immoral, will loving them be easy too? I suppose it would depending on where you are in your love walk.  I don’t think it would be easy.  Is it doable? of course! is it an option? Shouldn’t be for us as children of God.

Even The Godless Do That!

The bible speaks several times throughout regarding this very subject.  In fact it plainly states “For if ye love them which love you, what thank have ye? for sinners also love those that love them.” And if you do good to them which do good to you, what thank have ye? for sinners also do even the same.” Luke 6:32-33  God expects us to go a step further than those in the world.  That’s why he gave us His word and his Holy Spirit to help us be able to do so…to love the unlovely. Just loving those who are beautiful, easy to love, or show love back is nothing according to the word, it says even the godless do that! But when we yield ourselves to the word looking beyond the worldly faults of others and seeing their spiritual needs and acting on it in love then I believe we’re on the right track.

wwHigh Expectations

I thank God for bringing to mind the lyrics to that song I heard many years and many times before, but today it was used to activate a switch in me  that encouraged me to want to do better and to draw closer as I go to another level in Him. We are to be just like our loving father in Heaven, showing love and compassion.  He loves us and has high expectations for us because He knows that He has provided in us all that we need to perform His word. God even tells us to love our enemies…and do good to them!  yeah, you talking about someone who believes in you! (He wouldn’t tell us if He didn’t think we could do it). So let’s go higher, dig deeper, and draw closer to our Father as we love even those who may appear to be ugly knowing we have been given the grace from God to do so;=)

