Tags

, , , , , , ,

John 9:4 “I must work the works of Him who sent me while it is day, for there cometh a night when no man can work.”

image

I received a call early yesterday morning that my uncle passed away. This was the uncle who brought me to salvation through Jesus Christ. He took time out with me while I was in middle school, teaching me and helping me understand the ways and scriptures of God. When I fully understood what baptism meant we were having a church picnic. He instantly said, “Well let’s baptism you in the swimming pool.” My uncle and my aunt was a groomsmen and bridesmaid in my wedding. The great thing about that was the fact that they too had gotten married on that same date. I could go on and on about how great of a man he was. I could remember watching him and my aunt when I was a little girl and saying, “I wonder if someone will love and cherish me like my uncle cherishes my aunt?” There marriage was one I could say, although not perfect it showed the representation of how Christ loves the church. Meaning, Christ constructed the union of marriage and instructed for it to represent His love for us. I saw that selflessness, forgiving, cleansing and redeeming love expressed in their marriage time after time.

Although it is hard losing someone I love and someone who has had such an impact on my life spiritually, I thank God for the time we did have. I’m thankful for the impression that he left with me. As I think about all of our memories, talks, ministry meetings and times of correction it brings to light once again that, “Only what you do for Christ will last.” The things of God and the things that brought glory back to God are the only things that matter. Many of us live to fulfill our own agendas and we just incorporate God in our lives instead of fulfilling the agendas God has for our lives and incorporating the other things in to help complete His will for our lives. Doing things in this life that will last and allow you to stand before God in eternity and have god be proud,”That’s what I call a lasting impression.”

image

